Hello everybody!
After this long break, I am finally back with a very interesting topic. I don’t know about you, but when I am watching those typical “American High School”-movies I notice many stereotypes, which are repeating themselves during and in the different films. Because I really wanted to know more about Americans and if stereotypes are actually accurate or if US-citizens are totally different in real life, I started to research a little and I want to show you what I found out. Also, I am going to talk about so-called Austrian behaviour.
The majority of people I know are firmly convinced that Americans are very loud. To be quite honest I just think they are more outgoing than Austrians and that Austrian people are not used to someone being that amenable. Another peculiar stereotype I heard is that Americans only eat Fast Food. I do get why someone would say that, because it is undeniable that in the US there are many spots where you can get this type of foods. But I think it is pretty strange to claim that they only eat that way. Of course, Austrians love their Schnitzel but that doesn’t mean that they enjoy it every day.
Some behaviours, that people view as “typically Austrian” are skiing, drinking beer and Lederhosen. It is true, that skiing and drinking beer are fun activities, but there are so many people who have never been on ski or do not drink alcohol, even within Austria. Also, Lederhosen, I guess, aren’t that comfortable – why should anyone want to wear them all the time?
Maybe stereotypes are suitable for most people of a specific region but why should we limit people, or their qualities just based on ethnicity or origin?
Leave your opinion in the comment section below!
Yours Roberta.